Clan Kids

Where kids imaginations run wild…

Book Review: The Mosquito and the Teapot

on July 17, 2013

What’s the book about?

It’s filled with seven charming tales of friendship for 4-6 year olds. Written by Aamani Gurajada, age 6. Illustrated by Sunaad Gurajada, age 11.

How did this book come to be?

From Rasana Atreya (the wonderful person who suggested the book):

In December of 2010 we were on a train journey from Chennai to Hyderabad (India). Aamani, then six years old, was bored. To help her pass time, I suggested she write stories. She wanted writing prompts. I asked her what kind she’d like. She wanted ‘one living thing, and one non-living thing.’ 
She wrote seven stories in the next couple hours. To my amazement, the stories were very cute. Three years later, after I published my own book, my daughter wanted to know why I couldn’t publish some of hers (she’s written lots more, since.) I thought, why not? I started to look around for an illustrator/cover designer. My son, Sunaad, wanted a shot at the art. So I downloaded paint.net, found a couple youtube ‘how-to’ videos for him, and he ended being our official illustrator.

Image

 

My Thoughts:

I loved this book. It was so cute. It made me smile and remember when the Clan kids would spin tales likes the ones in the book, and sometimes they still do. The illustrations were perfect. Great job to the young author and illustrator. My favorite story was the first one, The Lion cub and the Tiger cub.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Mosquito-Teapot-ebook/dp/B00DPX9PM8 (Amazon US)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Mosquito-Teapot-ebook/dp/B00DPX9PM8 (Amazon UK)

Leave a Reply

