Clan Kids

Where kids imaginations run wild…

Book & Author Spotlight

on August 28, 2013

I admit, I’ve been focusing on my writing this week and didn’t get a chance to read one of the few kids books I have for review. Next Wednesday there will be a review up. But for this week, lets try something different. This week I’m going to spotlight an author and her books. I’ve not read her books yet, so I can’t review them, but they are in my to-be-read pile.

Today, I’m spotlighting Beth Carter and her childrens books, What Do You Want To Be and The Missing Key. Lets start with the books, shall we…

Image

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE? is a timeless children’s picture book. The teacher, Mrs. McGee, poses that important question on the first day of school. Children excitedly (and sometimes shyly) talk about their career aspirations in verse. Delightful occupations such as dancer, baker, nurse, fireman, architect and many more are mentioned. During these hard times, children need to dream!

(I just have to mention, this book will go along perfectly with my Friday Fun post later this week. Make sure to check back by on Friday.)

Click here to purchase on Amazon.

Image

THE MISSING KEY, is a wee mystery. Mother and daughter turn the house upside down looking for a special key. Will the daughter get into trouble for finding it somewhere it should not be? Worse, will they miss the fair? Written in verse for ages 3-7.

Click here to purchase The Missing Key on Amazon.

Want to Win one of these books? Of course you do! To enter, simply comment in the comment section below and your name will be entered in a drawing for a chance to win one of these fabulous books, courtesy of the lovely Beth Carter!

What an awesome lady!

Image

Beth has been in marketing for 20 years and is a former bank vice president. Now, a full-time writer, she has published two children’s picture books, WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE? and THE MISSING KEY. She’s also published in three Echoes of the Ozarks anthologies (poems and short stories) and A Bad Hair Day anthology. She has been published alongside celebrities and famous authors in two six-word memoir books, IT ALL CHANGED IN AN INSTANT and SIX WORDS ABOUT WORK. She’s even published in a 2013 six-word desk calendar!

Beth writes picture books, novels (women’s fiction, romantic suspense and contemporary romance), short stories and poems. She has written an award-winning television script and has had non-fiction pieces published in Today’s Woman Journal.

She lives in the Midwest and is married. She has an amazing daughter who is a dancer and actress, two stepdaughters who are moms to she adorable grandchildren, two Labs, and a loving family.

To learn more about Beth Carter, check out her Facebook page.

12 responses to “Book & Author Spotlight

  1. Beth Carter says:

    You are AWESOME for doing this!! Thanks so much for this amazing surprise.

    I’ll offer two prizes–a book of their choice to two lucky commenters. Reviews would be MUCH appreciated on my author page @Author Beth Carter and especially on Amazon. http://amazon.com/author/bethcarter

    And may I add my newest picture book, SANTA’S SECRET, will be released this fall. Again, THANKS A BUNCH!

  2. clankids says:

    That is FANTASTIC! You are very welcome =D

  3. Such cute books. Glad to see Beth’s work on your blog!

  4. Christina Shepard says:

    Both books not only sound fun for kids but also educational. As a future teacher that is important to me. I will definitely remember these as Christmas approaches!

    • Beth Carter says:

      Thanks, Christina. Teachers and counselors like both books but especially WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE? because it inspires kids to dream big and emphasizes the importance of education at the end. And the illustrations are great. Leo Silva is a pro.

      My illustrator for THE MISSING KEY was really good too. And so happens to be my stepdaughter who is also an architect. Anyone who had lost anything will relate to this.

      Where is your school and what grade? I go to schools and read to kids.

  5. I must have missed this somehow. Didn’t know you were doing this. You’re books are awesome, Beth. You’re gonna make a great name for yourself.

  6. I have both WHO DO YOU WANT TO BE and THE MISSING KEY, so I want the new one
    SANTA’S SECRET.
    This is so neat having Author Spotlights.

  7. VJ Schultz says:

    Super cool–Beth! Any parent should be pleased to buy one or all of your books for their children. And the kids will love them.

  8. Beth Carter says:

    So sorry I’ve been late in announcing the winners. In my defense, I’ve been working with my publisher to finalize illustrations for my upcoming holiday picture book, SANTA’S SECRET, and had to sort through over 250 contest entries for a writers’ group I belong to, so it has been crazy.

    Without further ado, the two winners are: Christina Shepard and S.D. Keeling! Let me know which book you’d like, WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE? or THE MISSING KEY and message me your address so I can get a book in the mail to you.

Leave a Reply

