Clan Kids

Where kids imaginations run wild…

Friday Fun!

on September 13, 2013

Today’s Friday Fun post doesn’t feature any of the Clan Kids today. My kids are great. Most of the time they’ve got a few antics up their sleeves that I can’t resist talking about, but they were outdone this past week.

Saturday, my official yet unofficial assistant & I were at the Not-So-Square Arts Festival in Mt. Vernon, Mo. (I call her my official unofficial assistant because I can’t pay her to help me out. She does it out of the kindness of her heart…and because she’s awesome like that…and because I’m awesome to hang out with. One day when my books hit the big time, I’ll pay her, and then she’ll become my official assistant.)

Anyway…

While my assistant was checking out the author, art, photography, and craft booths, I manned the table. Dutifully ready to promote and sell my books and jewelry. (Yeah I make jewelry too.)

A man approached the table with his very cute little girl riding on his shoulders. I told him about my book and while he was reading the back cover, I looked up to chat with the little girl.

At that moment, a big long line of drool ran out of her mouth and right on top of her daddy’s head. It was so thick, I actually thought she had thrown up on his head. I stared at her and she stared back.

There was an internal struggle going on in the little girls head at this point…

Little Girl: What do I do? Did she see me do that? Did Dad notice? He didn’t say anything. I’ve got it!

She looked down at me and smiled. This is when I noticed she had a piece of peppermint in her mouth, hence the drooling. I’m surprised that I didn’t bust a gut laughing at what happened next though.

While smiling innocently at me, she casually rubs the drool into her dad’s hair, then kisses the top of his head. I can’t help but give her a big smile in return. Her dad never flinches while any of this is going on. (I’m thinking he was totally absorbed in the blurb on the back cover of my book. He probably should have bought a copy).

I thanked them for stopping by and didn’t see them again after that, but I want to thank them for giving me something to share today!

A parents love in unconditional! Happy Friday!

5 responses to “Friday Fun!

  1. Ha ha! Kids are a never ending supply of great moments. Thanks for sharing! And I agree, he should have bought the book!

  2. Susan says:

    Awesome. It was nice seeing you in Mt. Vernon. I saw those two but thank goodness that didn’t happen at our table. I would have gagged and the moment would not have turned out the same.

  3. Yeah, when you’ve got a little one, you kind of get used to the drool. 🙂

  4. Chris Cannon says:

    Ick, I know love is unconditional, but ick.

  5. That makes me smile. She should star in a children’s book somewhere.

Leave a Reply

