Clan Kids

Where kids imaginations run wild…

Flashback Friday!

on December 27, 2013

My sister text me last night with a link for a YouTube video.

Well, I’m not so great with checking my phone before bed, so I watched it this morning. The video instantly brought a smile to my face and the fond memories flooded my mind.

The video she sent was of Dodie Stevens singing Pink Shoelaces.

In elementary school, two friends and I performed this song in the annual talent show. We lip-synced to it, came up with some killer choreography, had tan shoes with pink shoes, and the polka dot vest. The only thing missing was the big panama with the purple hat band.

I realize a video of us performing it would be more entertaining, but none of our parents had a video camera. But the memories make me smile and giggle. I loved those girls and am still in touch with one of them.

Thanks sis for helping me remember what a dork I really was and laughing with/at me 😉

6 responses to “Flashback Friday!

  1. ~Cool Papa~ says:

    Your performance was absolutely fantastic and highly copasetic that evening! I remember it well. Dodie Stevens would be proud.

  2. You are a fun person! I remember singing “We Are Siamese If You Please” from Lady and the Tramp at a Christmas program with my best friend. Her mom made our ears and tails. Sometimes we still sing it.
    Thanks for the memories.

  3. Chris Cannon says:

    Sounds like a fun memory.

  4. Beth Carter says:

    That’s so cool. Nice memories!

  5. Lisa Wells says:

    My sisters and I put on yearly Christmas plays for our parents. I love reading about other peoples childhood memories.

Leave a Reply

