Clan Kids

Where kids imaginations run wild…

Review: There’s a Superhero in the Library

on April 23, 2014

Image

 

Book Blurb

For ages 3-9… James loves Mrs. Bodenhammer, the school librarian. She introduced him to the magic of reading books. Then one day Mrs. Bodenhammer disappears. He discovers his beloved librarian has cancer. Even though he doesn’t understand how you get cancer James soon realizes it is serious. When the new librarian shows up with no hair and dressed like a superhero James has to decide whether or not to open his heart. Soon they become great friends and he decides this superhero is awesome. A surprise awaits James the day he hears Mrs. Bodenhammer will soon return having recovered from cancer. We rarely think about how our children are affected when their teacher becomes ill and unable to attend school. This light hearted tale of a little boy and the teacher he loves brings hope and joy in the scary world of cancer. James discovers that superheroes walk among us every day. Sometimes it’s just hard to see them.

 

My Thoughts:

To be honest, I was reluctant to read this book. I didn’t think it would be my cup of tea. The only reason I read it is because Tierney graciously offered to donate a copy to my daughter’s school fundraiser.

Now I can honestly say that I was kicking myself for not reading it sooner! It is a truly wonderful, heartwarming story. We have all had a teacher that has made an impression on us, one that we have looked up to, and one that has inspired us in one way or another. The boy in this story, James, has found that in the librarian at his school. But Ms. Bodenhammer becomes ill and another librarian takes her place. James doesn’t want to like the new librarian, but slowly warms up to her as she proves she much more like Ms. Bodenhammer than James thought.

This is a great story to introduce children to cancer. I teared up, not in a sad way, but in a good way.

Job well done Tierney! I only wish I had picked it up much sooner.

 

Rating:

5 out of 5 stars!

 

Link:

http://www.amazon.com/Theres-Superhero-Library-Tierney-James/dp/1612252214/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1398277819&sr=8-1&keywords=there%27s+a+superhero+in+the+library

2 responses to “Review: There’s a Superhero in the Library

  1. Beth Carter says:

    I agree. Tierney James handled that very serious topic with loving care.

  2. I haven’t read it yet, but this review makes me want to.

Leave a Reply

